Rowan Woods, director of feature film and television drama, has joined the board of the Australian Directors Guild (ADG). Rowan was elected to replace Jeffrey Walker who has stepped down after several years of service to the ADG.

Rowan Woods is a director of TV and feature films and Head of Directing at the Australian Film Television and Radio School – AFTRS. Rowan Woods’ feature film debut THE BOYS starred Toni Collette and David Wenham. The movie was nominated for 9 AFI Awards, winning Best Director and selected in competition for the Berlin International Film Festival. THE BOYS was produced by Rowan’s AFTRS colleague, Robert Connolly. Rowan Woods also directed LITTLE FISH starring Academy Award winner Cate Blanchett and Hugo Weaving which was nominated for 13 AFI Awards, 11 FCCA Awards, 8 IF Awards, including Best Film and Best Director. Rowan Woods’ US feature FRAGMENTS starred Kate Beckinsale, Dakota Fanning, Guy Pearce, and Academy Award winner, Forest Whitaker. In 2016, Rowan Woods was set-up director for the multi-award winning THE KETTERING INCIDENT – International Special Jury Prize winner at Series Mania. Rowan was also awarded ADG Award for Best Direction in a Telemovie for THE BROKEN SHORE and has directed 4 series of multi-award-winning TV series RAKE for ABC TV with AFTRS colleague writer / producer, Peter Duncan. Rowan Woods’ reputation as drama director is complemented by directing international VFX-driven TV series including FARSCAPE, SPARTACUS and HUNTERS for Exec producer, Gayle Anne Hurd. He was also the set-up director for 5th and final season of RAKE and this month won a BAFTA award for his direction of NOWHERE BOYS for ABC TV.
Rowan said of his election “Representing all ADG members on the ADG Board would be a great privilege. I would like to thank all the members who voted for me and put their trust in me to represent them.
Also re-elected to the board were the President SAMANTHA LANG and JONATHAN BROUGH (Vice President of Television).
For more information please contact Kingston Anderson, on 02 9555 7045