Ray Argall Announced as the Recipient of the ADG's Cecil Holmes Award


With only a week to go until the Australian Directors’ Guild Awards, the ADG has announced that this year they will present the prestigious Cecil Holmes Award to Ray Argall. The Cecil Holmes Award was first presented in 1995 and is presented by the ADG board to honour recipients who have advocated for the role of the director. Ray Argall is a highly respected director and cinematographer with a career that has spanned across four decades. He was the President of the Australian Directors’ Guild from 2006 to 2015.


Kingston Anderson, CEO of the Australian Director’s Guild, said “Ray Argall has been one of the ADG's longest serving Presidents and has ushered in an era of development and change at the guild. His dedication in serving on the board and standing up for screen directors has been outstanding.”
The Cecil Holmes Award was established in honour of Australian cinema pioneer Cecil Holmes, a filmmaker of the 1970s whose work was largely unheralded, and who was later instrumental in mentoring a number of Australian screen directors. Ray Argall will receive the Cecil Holmes Award at the Awards ceremony next week.
In addition, the ADG are also thrilled to announce that actors Kat Stewart and Pia Miranda will join Michala Banas, Xavier Samuel, Damian Walshe-Howling, Adam Elliot and Evie Macdonald as presenters at the event, with comedian Susie Youssef hosting the ceremony. The ADG Awards recognise excellence in the craft and art of directing, as well as acknowledging individual contributions by Australian Screen Directors to film, television, documentary, animation and interactive media. The Awards are the only opportunity for Australian directors and their work to be acknowledged by their directing peers.
Amongst the nominees this year are Simon Baker, Greg McLean and Jeffrey Walker who are joined by Tori Garrett and Jason Raftopoulos in the Best Director of a Feature Film category. Other nominees include previous ADG winners Jennifer Peedom, Matthew Saville and Kriv Stenders as well as Peter Andrikidis, Daina Reid and Glendyn Ivin.
This year, the ADG Awards is delighted to have the support of Media Super as the Principle Partner of the event. Media Super CEO Graeme Russell said that the fund was proud to continue their support of the ADG Awards and the Australian film and television industry and he also commented: “We have a long, rich history of story-telling in this country, and this year’s nominees are a fantastic example of the wealth of talent bringing these stories to life. From emerging students, to documentaries and feature films, Australian directors are making their mark and we’re honoured to be part of these celebrations.”
The 2018 ADG Awards will be held on Friday, 4 May at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.